National Parks Centennial Series

Tim Bergquist

These eight U.S. stamps (Scott #1448-1454 and C84) were issued in 1972, between March and July, to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the National Parks system, which was started with Yellowstone National Park, the first national park in the world. All of the stamps have the words "National Parks Centennial" in them.

The Old Faithful, Yellowstone stamp (Scott #1453) was issued on March 1, 1972 at Yellowstone National Park in Wyoming. It pictures the Old Faithful geyser and was issued in panes of 32. Yellowstone is the oldest national park in the world, having been established on March 1, 1872.





The Cape Hatteras National Seashore stamps (Scott #1448-1451) were issued on April 5, 1972 at Hatteras, North Carolina. This was the first U.S. block of four that had a se-tenant continuous design. The top right stamp shows the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse that has appeared on more U.S. stamps than any other U.S. lighthouse.

The City of Refuge, Hawaii stamp (Scott #C84) was issued on May 3, 1972 at Honaunau on the island of Hawaii. The park was established in 1961. The stamp design features the old Hawaiian god "Kii," who protected those who broke taboo customs by enabling them to obtain purification from temple priests.





The Wolf Trap Farm, Virginia stamp (Scott #1452) was issued on June 26, 1972 at Vienna, Virginia. It is the only National Park dedicated exclusively to the performing arts.

The Mount McKinley, Alaska stamp (Scott #1454) was issued on July 28, 1972 at Mt McKinley National Park in Alaska. In 1980 it was renamed Denali National Park. The native Alaskan word means "the tall one" and it is the tallest peak in North America.

